XP "Banking" or "Rewards"

• February 8, 2006 at 10:42 pm #1660
    Indomitus
    Participant

So we all grow attached to characters, but as we have seen in other games, sometimes they end up dead or unplayable… or maybe they’ve had their run and you just have nothing left to accomplish with them. So then, you get to make a new chaarcter background from scratch and you get to the character sheet and…

“ugh, I’ve been playing this game for two years and I have nothing to show for it any longer!”

You put tons of hours into playing and posting for all that time, but here you are, having to start completely anew. This is where my diea comes in. It would be a way for people who lose their characters somehow be rewarded for their service and continued play of the game. it could work one of two ways:

A Reward System

In this system, you would take the total amount of XP your character earned in it’s lifetime of play and then take a small percentage of that amount, and be allowed to apply it to the new character after spending your generation points. A suitable amount would probably be between 10 and 15%. So lets say someone earned 1000XP in their character’s term, and then that character dies. When they generate their new chaarcter they would spend all their generation points as normal and send it in. Once approved, they would immediatley send it in for an update. Assuming that we use a figure of 10%, they’d be allowed to spend 100XP. This XP would have to all be used in this immediate update, anything unused would be lost. Also, you could only cash in rewards for one character to be used on another, so if you have two characters that both have a build-up of rewards, you couldn’t take both’s reward poitns and apply them if they both happen to die off or become unplayable.

A Banking System